Blog #2

Computers are a very important part of the educational experiences—especially in today’s ever-developing digital era. Critical concerns, however, would include making sure teachers do not spend the entirety of class time on the computer or teaching only technological ideas: old methods should still be practiced, like lectures and discussions rather than utilizing only PowerPoints to teach students. Another concern in that students may utilize computers too much in the classroom, which disallows them from fully learning. For example, I have sat in the back of my classes before and noticed that the majority of the students that were using laptops were on Facebook or other recreational sites while the instructor was lecturing. I think this is definitely a critical concern that needs to be addressed: students should be allowed to use computers in class, but should exercise integrity when doing so, otherwise they’re hindering their own education and others’ by being distracting.

Within my own class (secondary level English/Language Arts), computers will be an excellent tool for learning to properly write MLA formatted papers as well as conduct research for scholarly articles to use for these papers. Also, computers are helpful for constructing annotated bibliographies were are an important component of writing high-quality research papers. One issue that was raised in Chapter 1 that I found interesting and prevalent to my area of instruction was the idea that

“Computers can be used to deliver lessons if they are used wisely. First, the software must match the curricular goal. This restricts the number of titles available for many topics, especially beyond the elementary grades. While there are many programs that teach early math and reading concepts, an English teacher might have a hard time finding a piece of software related to a particular short story or novel” (17)

I definitely agree with this statement—it is hard to find programs in the English filed that are credible and useful in a classroom (i.e., using programs other than things like CliffNotes, SparkNotes, or Wikipedia). This is where computers fall short and the traditional teaching styles prevail: future English teachers should be well-versed and studied in their area of instruction and learn from the start not to rely much on the assistance of computers, as this chapter explains.

I definitely agree with the label “digital native,” though I do not believe I am being referred to in this category. The digital natives are the children born after the year 2000, when almost immediately after birth they came into contact with tablets, iPhones, iPads, DS, and things of the like. My little sister is definitely a part of this category: she knew better than me how to operate an iPad at age 6. To be a digital native is to have lived a life accompanied by technology since birth: again to use the example of my sister, she was watching Netflix on my dad’s tablet before she could walk. There are visible differences between digital natives and digital “immigrants” especially in the classroom. When professors cannot seem to get the overhead projector to work, he or she always asks the class if something is technologically savvy enough to help them remedy the complication, and almost everyone is willing and able to offer some kind of assistance. There will be a virtually equal understanding of technology between my future students and me because they will have been versed in technology from the start, and I’ve been involved with the digital age for pretty much my entire life. Of course, I anticipate that my students will have a lot more to teach me about the developments in technology than I could keep up with.

My personal learning networks include a variety of social media programs such as Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram, Twitter just to name a few. All of them offer learning opportunities you would not necessarily predict. For example, I get almost all of my news information from Twitter and Facebook. I have learned countless academic information from Tumblr and Instagram since I follow many professors and scholars within my field of interest. I have learned from these kinds of professional examples how to present myself in a wholesome manner—my pictures are not raunchy, I do not use curse words, and I try to post as many positive things as possible, so that my followers (and whomever else might be interested in how I conduct myself via social media such as potential employers) will understand that I am respectful and considerate person.

2 thoughts on “Blog #2

  1. Shelby,

    When you talked about how the majority of students are on Facebook during class period, I cannot agree more! Not only the variety of social media accounts are in use during class, but MacBooks have now made it so that text messages and iMessages go directly to your laptop – which means hidden texting in class as well! The odd thing though, one of my professors REQUIRES you to sit in the front of the room if you have a laptop or tablet because she believes if you sit at the back it will be distracting to others. However, I’d much rather have the students whose computer screens are distracting towards the back of the room so that I can focus on the teacher and lesson as planned.

    Also, I agree with you with what you stated about the utilization of powerpoint in the classroom. Now that computers are readily accessible for the most part, almost every class I’m in involves a powerpoint with the teacher reading directly off of the slides. I feel that while technology, such as the utilization of powerpoints and computers are important, I am much more engaged if a professor is requiring us to think for ourselves by asking us questions and allowing us to have a discussion amongst ourselves. Because every student learns differently, I think the ideal compromise would be to switch up the way the material is presented each day!

    – Samantha Gronau

    Like

Leave a comment